Review: Gift Hampers by Caledonian Hampers

It’s getting to that time of year where Christmas is getting closer & you are thinking about gifts for people. And don’t we all have that one person (or people) who have everything & you just don’t know what to get them. I’m in the same situation this year & will be doing a hamper gift as it’s (hopefully) a better gift than getting someone something for the sake of it that they don’t really want.

Caledonian Hampers recently sent me one of their personalised hampers for me to review. I’ve never been too keen on pre-made hampers since they are a bit impersonal & often have loads of products you wouldn’t use often like lemon curd or weird & wonderful sauces.

I have to say I was impressed with the gift box I was sent. Presentation-wise there wasn’t much to shout about as the products came in a yellow box sealed with a ribbon & were cushioned in straw. However, the range of products in the gift box made up for it.

Gift Hamper

The company pride themselves on only including Scottish food & drink producers in their gift boxes, with a total of 60 producers supplying products. This made the hamper quite niche for me as it contained goodies such as Borders biscuits, Scottish rapeseed oils, seasoning from Simply Add Chilli & packets of oatcakes to name but a few products (see below for the full list). I would go as far to say that I liked 95% of the products supplied in the hamper!

Gift Hamper

With the hamper you can also choose to have a personalised bottle included. In the hamper I was given, there was a personalised bottle of Cairn O’Mhor cider, which is something I often pick up at the farmers market so it was a pleasant surprise!

Personalised Cider

Although the large hampers similar to the one I received are £50-60 each, given the amount of produce included as well as a personalised bottle of your choice, I think it’s good value for money. Especially when you compare it to hampers in stores this time of year where you get 5 pots of jam & some oatcakes for £25 because it’s a Christmas gift! One area that would be good would be the choice of what goes into your hamper. I know that’s a logistical nightmare for small companies but it would make that personalised gift all the more personal.

For all readers, Caledonian Hampers have provided an exclusive 10% off code until the end of November. When ordering, just use the code stuffnov to receie the discount!

Disclaimer: UK Gift Boxes provided the gift box free of charge

Leave a Reply

