Get Stuffed Chronicles – Getting Back on Track

I know, I know, I started a weekly roundup post last year & only ever did one post. I’m a bad blogger but the festive period came into full swing & it’s safe to say the blog was neglected for a while. More recently, I fractured my elbow which limited my typing but it’s on the mend so I have no excuses now.

As a result of the fracture, I’ve not been able to do any cooking or baking with the Mr having to make the dinner under my supervision! This week, however, I FINALLY was back in the kitchen. It was a special week as my dad turned the big 5-0. He had a special request for his birthday cake – a simple victoria sponge with raspberry jam & buttercream topped with water icing. I’ll admit I was a bit disheartened with the request as I wanted to do something extravagant but in all honesty, the cake was gorgeous & went down a storm! I did also sneak in a big cookies & cream cake to satisfy my desire to bake a big cake. It was taken from one of my Hummingbird bakery books & was delicious, albeit a bit too sweet for my own taste!

cake

With big birthday’s come good meals out too & we visited my most favourite restaurant, Bibi’s Cantina (see my previous review here). As usual, the meal was trememendous – I opted for veg chilli nachos which were overflowing followed by spicy shredded chipolte pork with all the trimmings. I couldn’t finish it all & ended up with a doggy bag!

bibi

On Sunday we had a free day & I had the urge to go to Seewoo, a massive Chinese supermarket in the North of Glasgow. I’ve never been before but had been told it’s a bit of an experience & I was not disappointed. As soon as we walked in, both of us said to each other “This smells like Hong Kong!” & we were instantly transported back to our holiday last year! Seewoo is amazing, full of weird & wonderful veg, all manner of frozen goodies, “pot” noodles as well as an array of cooking equipment. I managed to restrain myself & only pick up a few goodies – snacking seaweed (it’s much nicer than it sounds!), concentrate paste for chinese curry, sriracha & pickled chillies that I fell in love with in Thailand. We will be back soon though to pick up a steamer for making dim sum (my favourite!).

seewoo

A foodie bargain was had this week from Lidl where we picked up a waffle maker for £10!! I can’t wait to get experimenting & make some breakfast waffles this weekend as normal service resumes in the Get Stuffed kitchen 😀

Waffle Maker

Leave a Reply

